Wedding Plans Update

I’m not usually one to mention to much personal info on this blog, but my wedding is fast approaching.  I did (I think) announce way back, like a year and a half ago that I asked Chloe (pictured above) to marry me.

Our wedding is May 17th.  Norwegian Independence Day apparently–I was told this by an ecstatic Nordic woman when I had mentioned that was the date of our wedding.  The story goes that the Swedes and the Danes were fighting one of the numerous wars and the Fins broke (from Swedish suzerainty) while those blond ice-hockey playing, Vikings weren’t looking.

Also interestingly the same wedding date as of one set of Chloe’s grandparents.

The picture above is from a photo shoot with did with our photographer.  You can check out a slew of them here.  I’m also not much for plugging here at the blog, but Jennifer Salt is her name and she’s fantastic.  So any local Vancouver-ite readers her homepage/gallery is here.  She does weddings, babies, pregnancies.
She’s fantastic.

Also any local readers are invited to the actual wedding ceremony which is May 17th, 1 pm at Christ Church Cathedral downtown (corner of Georgia and Burrard).

So I’m working on getting the liturgy together, which is an interesting experiment–as long-time readers know (some do) my wife-to-be is not Christian while I’m studying to be an Anglican priest.

We are headed to Nicaragua for our honeymoon, which will allow me my first taste of playing the “I’m Canadian” card.  Given the history of the US gov’t illegally (and immorally I might add) funding right-wing deaths squads there during the Reagan years (they put the Contra in Iran-Contra), advertising my American-ness will probably not be priority numero uno.

T-minus 2 1/2 weeks and counting.

[PS For those wondering, I’m actually in really good spirits, no nerves (yet) about it.  I’ve only been procrastinating slightly on downloading music for the reception to play in between our jazz trio.  But when else is a pastor, a Christian minister, and a liberation theologian at that–my primary field of theological study for 5 years–going to play such a role in US politics ever again?]

Published in: on April 30, 2008 at 6:29 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/wedding-plans-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] think correlated with the events described in the previous post, I am beginning a deeper study of Canada–history, politics, and culture. Part of a process of […]

  2. Congratulations Chris, she’s beautiful! God grant both of you many years!

    Travis

  3. Hello brother,

    Not sure how I ended up here. Link to link to link, I suppose. I knew of your blog; just hadn’t been here in a long time. But let me just say, CONGRATULATIONS. You two look beautiful. I’m very happy for you.

    It’s also really wonderful that you’re going to Nicaragua for your honeymoon. I don’t know if I ever told you—I spent a couple years (on and off) there in my early 20s. I also wrote a book of translations of Nicaraguan poetry. It’s one of my favorite places in the world, and it was one of the happiest times in my life. I met so many great people & friends there. Nicaragua lives deep in my heart.

    I’m sure you’re totally busy with the wedding coming up, but I would love at some point to talk about, well, everything.

    Btw, I really appreciate your posts on Jeremiah Wright. I’ve been thinking & feeling along the same lines, but not as articulately or knowledgeably as you.

    Much love,
    Marco

  4. Hey brother,

    thanks for the note. I’ll send some wedding photos. I do remember your poetry book. It’s gonna be great; I’m excited.

    peace.

    cj


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

