Chloroquine Update

As of one hour ago I’ve begun my anti-malarial regimen for my upcoming honeymoon. I know nothing says I love you quite like malaria. Hell even Cholera got a book named after it with Love in the title.

On the plus side, we aren’t planning any excursions into the Nicaraguan jungle, so our stuff isn’t that heavy.

Its 2 chloroquine (like quinine in ye olden days) weekly for 10 weeks. That’s 2 weeks before we leave (starting today) and 2 weeks after we return.

Possible side effects: nausea and quasi-psychotic nightmares (the second thankfully being much rarer particularly in the low-dose stuff we are on).

I’ve already got the former, though not horribly so, but uncomfortable enough. And my body’s a tad achy. All told though could be a lot worse.  But it’s the first time so maybe after a couple of rounds, my body will adjust. I’ll report back if I start having crazy dreams.

Photo, link here, of British soldiers taking their daily 5 grain allotment of quinine in Salonica 1916.

Published in: on May 8, 2008 at 2:54 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/05/08/chloroquine-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

