Honeymoon: Destination Nicaragua

My wife (first time I’ve written that now) and I leave for our honeymoon tomorrow. I hope to be blogging in some updates periodically. The easiest way to keep up will be to subscribe to the RSS on the upper right side of the homepage.

We fly into Managua tomorrow. A day or two there and then off to the south. Grenada–bastion of the Conservative Party historically–then to Lake Nicaragua. Some time on the coast, then to Leon–home of the Liberals. Perhaps a tour into the mountains (central-north), coffee growing areas as well as places that maintain the scars of the Civil War.

The trip is rounded out with a more relaxing, laying on the beach week at the Corn Islands (off the East Coast of the country).

If anyone has been (hint hint Marco) and has some recommendations, feel free to leave them in the comments. Much appreciated.

La Paz.

Oh, and I’m experimenting with Twitter (username: cdierkes), so you can catch me over there as well.

Published in: on May 21, 2008 at 6:42 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/05/21/honeymoon-destination-nicaragua/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey man, I’m so happy for you. Congratulations on your wedding. Also, I think you’ll love Nicaragua.

    I was mostly in the Matagalpa region – though I visited Managua all the time, and Leon and Granda a number of times. Matagalpa has some of the most beautiful mountains and a sweet climate. This place might be really nice to check out, though I never actually stayed there. We just passed it on the road going back and forth from our volunteer site. But if you end up in those mountains, I think you’ll like it a lot. Bring back some good coffee!

    I also really liked Esteli – just a small city, but I felt really at home there. It was also home of a famous poet, Leonel Rugama, who was famously killed by Somoza. I met Rugama’s sister, who runs a bookstore there. Not sure if she’s still alive, though….

    The poets are one of Nicaragua’s greatest national treasures. You should visit the home of Ruben Dario in Leon. Also, if you come across a poetry reading, check it out! This site should give you some leads: http://educacion.vivenicaragua.com/400elefantes/

    Finally, if you happen to meet Marta Leonor Gonzalez and Juan Sobalvarro, send my love.

    Bon voyage!

  2. Link got lost in posting – the Selva Negra near Matagalpa
    http://www.sweetmarias.com/NicaTrip2003SelvaNegra.html

  3. Thanks homes. I’ll keep you updated.

    Peace. Chris


Leave a Reply

