Books Chris is Reading Podcast (Audio Content): Karl Otto Apel

Click here for Podcast: Book Podcast1

Recorded on Garage Band (Mac program) at home a few days ago, I’m experimenting with some more audio content on the site.

In this one I discuss Karl Otto Apel’s Understanding and Explanation.

I go through a bit of a history tour of hermeneutics and empiricist philosophy. For background on any of the thinkers I mention or discuss, consult see:

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

For Mark Edwards and the Integral Cycle of Learning here.

I had one page of some basic notes and the rest is basically spontaneous. i.e. I had an idea of what I wanted to speak about but did not write out a script. It gives it I think a fresher feel but there are some mess ups. As I say at the beginning, this is experimental, so any advice is welcome. [It’s a little softer than I would have liked, so I’m aware of that for the next one].

One point I should add that I’m not sure I made completely clear is that Apel’s work is primarily concerned with the social sciences and finding a new grounding for them–between the poles of humanities and natural/hard sciences.

Also, not sure I mention this explicitly (perhaps implicitly because of the time I spend on in) but it is a brilliant text and he is a brilliant writer.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/books-chris-is-reading-podcast-audio-content-karl-otto-apel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

