Godcasting Part II: CJ Preaching (Audio Content)

SermonSept.16th

The link above is to the audio of a sermon I preached this evening at a Eucharist celebration at my Church (Christ Church Cathedral). Recorded on my iPod with a plug-in microphone. [You’ll hear some clicks and knocks which is my hands on the podium…]

Note: You hear me read a passage from the Third Chapter of the Gospel of John. But the passage I use as the basis for my reflection and that I allude in my preaching was the first reading (which is not recorded).

That text, the one for my reflection is Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians 1:18-25. Which reads:

18 For the message about the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19For it is written,
‘I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.’
20Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, God decided, through the foolishness of our proclamation, to save those who believe. 22For Jews demand signs and Greeks desire wisdom, 23but we proclaim Christ crucified, a stumbling-block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, 24but to those who are the called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25For God’s foolishness is wiser than human wisdom, and God’s weakness is stronger than human strength.

This sermon grew out of earlier meditations I’ve had (following James Cone) on the Cross as the Hanging Noose.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/godcasting-part-ii-cj-preaching-audio-content/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good stuff Chris. Look forward to hearing more.

  2. thnx.


Leave a Reply

