Follow up on Westminster Confession

[The text of The Westminster Confession is available online via Reformed.org (great site–I use their site to read The Institutes for my Calvin class).]

I may have been a little hard on The Westminster Confession in the previous post. For all you theological nerds out there, if interested, here is a paper I wrote on the Confession (basically on the understanding of Scripture) in my first year of seminary. Link here: Westminster.

The Doctrine of the Spirit within is a profound, I think the profoundest aspect of Calvin’s theology. But it interacts strangely I find with the Scripture is interpreted by Scripture position.  I feel like what is going on here is that one can approach Scripture thusly and it will achieve the kind of results (??), as it were, claimed by the Evangelical tradition (sincerely and with validity).  But the initial choice itself to approach in said manner to me is already a choice of ours.  Not the choice.  And this is where I’m not an evangelical in that regard.  But I did the paper because I grew up in the Catholic Church, so I know the Anglo-Catholic wing, and my theological training in the Jesuits was very much in the so-called Liberal tradition.  But the evangelical wing I felt I could not understand or always love.

So while I typically write about politics here on the blog, this is something of what I’m doing in my day to day life. The initial part of the paper shows a continued thread of my anti-natural theological pov.  In that sense, I’m much more in line with something like a Neo-Orthodoxy of Barth (speaking of Calvinists).  But the difference being I put emphasis on our choice in taking the humbled stance before the Scriptures.  The pure Calvinist doctrine–which again I am not a representative of–is that such a movement is willed by God.  It is then the only choice before the Holy God.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indistinctunion.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/follow-up-on-westminster-confession/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

